SHOPPING

New York Designers to Support Now


As New York City becomes the epicenter of the coronavirus pandemic, some leaders in the fashion industry have stepped up to support their communities, either by producing masks, donating a portion of their sales to relief efforts, advocating on behalf of retail workers or directing funds from their affiliated foundations to hospitals. Here, some of our favorite pieces from those NYC brands, for those of us who want to support their efforts from home. Note: Many e-commerce sites have ceased operations until further notice or staggered outgoing shipments for the safety of their employees, so there may be significant delays in shipping. Be sure to check each designer’s website or social media feeds for the latest information.

1
Christian Siriano Wrap-front blazer, $1,125, store.christiansiriano.com

When New York Governor Andrew Cuomo put out a call on Twitter for reusable fabric masks, Christian Siriano was the first to answer. So far, the designer and his team of seamstresses have made more than 1,500 face masks for New York healthcare workers. Consider this silk moire blazer for your next Zoom cocktail hour.

2
Prabal Gurung Sequin dress, $1,595 prabalgurung.com

Prabal Gurung and his team have also been working directly with the governor’s office to produce PPE equipment, and Gurung, a Nepalese-American designer, has spoken out against racism that many Asians and Asian Americans have faced. This cheerful tangerine-hued dress is a glittering reminder of sunnier days ahead.

3
Pyer Moss Flared corduroy trousers, $375, pyermoss.com

Pyer Moss designer Kerby Jean-Raymond has converted the company’s offices into a donation center, receiving and shipping N95 masks to medical professionals. The company has also set aside $50,000 to help small creative businesses owned by women and minorities stay afloat. Any purchase from the brand—these great corduroys included—goes toward multiple great causes.

4
Rachel Comey Suede clogs, $210 (was $525), rachelcomey.com

Rachel Comey has been producing reusable fabric masks, as well as sharing mask sewing tutorials and government contact information for local manufacturers who also want to help on her Instagram account. The brand is hosting their first digital sample sale—these clogs with hand-carved wooden heels are 60% off.

5
Collina Strada Floral dress, $550, collinastrada.com

The eco-conscious brand Collina Strada has partnered with Masks4Medicine to produce and donate cotton masks to healthcare workers, and is including a hand-sewn face mask in each order. This floral dress is made from deadstock rayon and comfy enough to wear while lounging around the living room.

6
Tory Burch Mismatched earrings, $178, toryburch.com

Tory Burch was tapped by the CFDA to lead the A Common Thread initiative, and has been advocating for fashion industry workers to be included in the federal government’s economic stimulus plan. These quirky, Picasso-esque earrings are a fun way to add some shine to any outfit.

7
Ralph Lauren Crew neck flag sweater, $148, ralphlauren.com

The Ralph Lauren Corporate Foundation has pledged $10 million toward coronavirus relief efforts. This classic RL sweater is a retro-chic way to add a little patriotism to your wardrobe.

8
Nicole Miller Silk crepe jacket, $395, nicolemiller.com

Nicole Miller has been producing PPE for medical workers, according to WWD. We love this serene silk jacket in a lovely, calming color.

9
Brandon Maxwell Multi-stone bracelet, $500, modaoperandi.com

Brandon Maxwell has also mobilized his team to produce PPE. This candy-like bracelet, made in collaboration with Kenneth Jay Lane, has us dreaming of future party outfits.

10
Alice + Olivia Color-blocked heels, $350, aliceandolivia.com

Last week, designer Stacey Bendet tweeted that the company was working with the local government to produce and donate masks. These rainbow striped heels are made for a celebration, but we won’t blame you if you want to wear them around your house.

11
Eileen Fisher Sisal tote bag, $92, eileenfisher.com

Another designer who has partnered with local government is Eileen Fisher. The brand has pivoted factories to produce essential PPE for doctors and nurses. Use this color-blocked tote for groceries now, and beach trips later.

12
Sies Marjan Silk gown, $1,395 siesmarjan.com

Sies Marjan is donating 10% of all sales to New York Presbyterian Hospital, meaning any purchase makes a direct impact. This timeless, textural satin gown will feel glamorous in any situation.