COVER: MARY J. BLIGE

Mary J. Blige wears an Alberta Ferretti cape, $16,325, Barneys New York, New York, 888.8.BARNEYS; Joseph coat, $2,845, joseph-fashion.com; Djula earrings, $6,720, Djula, Beverly Hills, 424.335.0503; vintage crown from Early Halloween, New York. 

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page 22: Eliza Douglas wears a Patrik Ervell shirt, $270, patrikervell.com; Levi’s Vintage Clothing 1947 jeans, $278, levi.com; Balenciaga sunglasses, price upon request, bergdorfgoodman.com, and shoes, $695, Balenciaga, New York, 212.226.2052. Page 26: Céline shirt and skirt, $620, Barneys New York, New York, 888.8.BARNEYS. 

SAMARA WEAVING

Page 43: Oscar de la Renta dress, $3,290, oscardelarenta.com.

LADIES WHO LOOK

Page 50: Perrone wears Area top, area.nyc; Osanna Madina Visconti di Modrone earrings, $499, osannavisconti.it; her own pants. Sachs wears Khite shirt, $720, and skirt, $480, theline.com; Caterina Zangrando rings, $110 - $250, caterinazangrando.com.

DARK STAR

Page 54: 1. Gardner wears JW Anderson dress, $3,735, j-w-anderson.com; Hoorsenbuhs ring (left hand), $3,950, hoorsenbuhs.com; David Yurman ring, $450, davidyurman.com. 2. Paco Rabanne dress, $870, justoneeye.com. 3. David Yurman bracelet, $995, davidyurman.com. 4. The Kooples bag, $445, thekooples.com. 5. Eva Fehren rings, $1,850 - $2,545, evafehren.com. 6. Miu Miu shoes, price upon request, miumiu.com. 7. MCM Worldwide jacket, $1,895, mcmworldwide.com. 8. Gardner, in 1999.

DISPLAY TACTICS

Page 57: Proenza Schouler bracelets, $595 each, Proenza Schouler, New York, 212.420.7300; Gottex swimsuit, $168, Bloomingdale’s, New York, 800.777.0000. Page 58: Prada bag, $2,350, prada.com; Michael Kors Collection pants, $1,195, michaelkors.com. (Left hand) Louis Vuitton ring, price upon request, louisvuitton.com; (right hand from left) Hermès ring, $460, hermes.com; Louis Vuitton ring, price upon request, louisvuitton.com; Paco Rabanne shirt, $870, Barneys New York, New York, 888.8.BARNEYS. Céline shoes, $690, celine.com; Hermès ring, $610, hermes.com; Paco Rabanne dress, price upon request, Barneys New York, New York, 888.8.BARNEYS. Balenciaga earring, $195, Balenciaga, New York, 212.206.0872; Céline dress, $2,450, celine.com

ART ON YOUR SLEEVE

Page 64: (Dior bags clockwise, from top) Spencer Sweeney, John Giorno, and Jack Pierson, prices upon request, dior.com.

CUFF LOVE

Page 66: From left: Chanel Fine Jewelry white and yellow diamond, sapphire, and white and yellow gold bracelets, prices upon request, Chanel Fine Jewelry Boutiques, 800.550.0005. Van Cleef & Arpels diamond, sapphire, and white gold cuff, price upon request, vancleefarpels.com. Page 68: From top: Cartier sapphire, emerald, ruby, diamond, and platinum bracelet, available by appointment only at select Cartier boutiques, 800.CARTIER. Nirav Modi emerald, pearl, diamond, and white and yellow gold bracelet, price upon request, Nirav Modi Jewelry boutique, 212.603.0000. Page 70: From top: Chopard emerald, tanzanite, diamond, platinum, and white gold bracelet, price upon request, Chopard boutiques, 800.CHOPARD. Bulgari diamond, lapis, chrysoprase, and white gold bracelet, price upon request, bulgari.com.

FAST & FURIOUS

Page 73: Eliza Douglas wears a Patrik Ervell shirt, $270, patrikervell.com; Levi’s Vintage Clothing 1947 jeans, $278, levi.com; Balenciaga sunglasses, price upon request, bergdorfgoodman.com, and shoes, $695, Balenciaga, New York, 212.226.2052. Page 74 & Page 75: From left: Gosha Rubchinskiy x Adidas shorts, $76, shop.doverstreetmarket.com; Prada socks, $210, prada.com; Balenciaga shoes, $695, 212.226.2052; Douglas’s own glasses (throughout). Calvin Klein 205W39NYC raincoat, $1,900, and pants, $990, calvinklein.com. Page 76: Calvin Klein 205W39NYC raincoat, $1,900, calvinklein.com. Page 77: Burberry coat, $1,995, us.burberry.com; Lanvin pants, $1,575, store.lanvin.com. AG T-shirt, $64, agjeans.com; Gosha Rubchinskiy x Adidas shorts, $76, shop.doverstreetmarket.com; Prada socks, $210, prada.com; Balenciaga shoes, $695, Balenciaga, New York, 212.226.2052. Page 79: Gosha Rubchinskiy vest, $492, and top, $74, shop.doverstreetmarket.com/us; Gosha Rubchinskiy x Adidas hoodie, $227, and shorts, $76, shop.doverstreetmarket.com/us. Page 80 & Page 81: Balenciaga shirt, $895, jeans, $595, and shoes, $695, Balenciaga, New York, 212.226.2052; Douglas’s own socks. Page 82: Prada sweater, $890, shirt, $670, and pants, $1,359, prada.com; Balenciaga T-shirt, $395, and shoes, $695, Balenciaga, New York, 212.226.2052; Douglas’s own socks.

CROWNING GLORY

Page 85: Mary J. Blige wears an Alberta Ferretti cape, $16,325, Barneys New York, New York, 888.8.BARNEYS; Joseph coat, $2,845, joseph-fashion.com; Djula earrings, $6,720, Djula, Beverly Hills, 424.335.0503; vintage crown from Early Halloween, New York. Page 86: Pologeorgis coat, $12,000, pologeorgis.com; Gucci jacket, $360, Gucci.com; Fred Leighton tiara and necklace, prices upon request, Fred Leighton, New York, 212.288.1872; stylist’s own earrings. Page 87: Balmain dress, $50,635, balmain.com; Jacob & Co. earrings, $33,600, Jacob & Co., New York, 212.719.5887; Munnu the Gem Palace ring, price upon request, 212.861.0606. Page 88: First column from top: Alberta Ferretti cape, $16,325, Barneys New York, New York, 888.8.BARNEYS; Joseph coat, $2,845, joseph-fashion.com. Balmain dress, $50,635, Balmain, New York, 212.966.4200. Third column: Oscar de la Renta dress, $7,290, Oscar de la Renta, 212.705.2474. Tom Ford dress, $6,650, tomford.com. Fifth column: Oscar de la Renta dress, $7,290, Oscar de la Renta, 212.705.2474. Oscar de la Renta dress, $7,290, Oscar de la Renta, 212.705.2474; Tom Ford coat, $7,500, tomford.com. Page 89: Oscar de la Renta dress, $7,290, Oscar de la Renta, 212.705.2474; Djula earrings, $6,720, Djula, Beverly Hills, 424.335.0503; (right hand, top) Vhernier ring, $10,000, Vhernier, Beverly Hills, 310.273.2444; David Webb rings, prices upon request, davidwebb.com. Carrie Mae Weems wears her own clothing and jewelry. 

THE TIES THAT BIND

Page 94 – 99 : All clothes and accessories Saint Laurent by Anthony Vaccarello (throughout), prices upon request, ysl.com.

SHE'S A RAINBOW

Page 110: Proenza Schouler coat, price upon request, Proenza Schouler, New York, proenzaschouler.com. Page 111: Raf Simons cardigan and hat, prices upon request, rafsimons.com; Chanel dress, $2,950, Chanel, 800.550.0005; Loewe boots, price upon request, loewe.com. Page 112: Marni dress, $1,820, marni.com; Raf Simons hat (throughout), price upon request, rafsimons.com; Céline necklace, $800, and bracelet, $900, celine.com. Page 113: Marni coat, $1,380, marni.com; Giorgio Armani skirt, $1,885, armani.com; Céline bracelets, (from top) $670, $900, celine.com, and $1,200, Barneys New York, 888.8.BARNEYS. Page 114: Balenciaga dress, $2,950, Balenciaga, New York, 212.328.1671. Page 115: Alexander McQueen top, $1,745, and skirt, $2,865, Alexander McQueen, New York, 212.645.1797. Page 116: Dior dress, $3,100, Dior, 800.929.DIOR; Fleur du Mal bra, $98, fleurdumal.com; Commando underwear, $34, similar styles at wearcommando.com. Page 117: Valentino dress, $9,900, valentino.com. Page 118: Gucci jacket, $2,980, and pants, $1,700, gucci.com. Page 119: Missoni dress, $2,895, missoni.com; Loewe boots, price upon request, loewe.com. Page 120: Loewe dress and boots, prices upon request, loewe.com. Page 121: Miu Miu coat, price upon request, miumiu.com; model’s own earring. 

Watch: Mary J. Blige Talks About Meeting Michael Jackson