DESTINATION

Lou Doillon Went to Biarritz, Because Even It Girls Need a Break from Fashion Week

loudoillon 1.jpg

Between Milan Fashion Week and her front-row appearance at Anthony Vaccarello’s Saint Laurent debut in Paris, Lou Doillon — musician, model, It girl, daughter of Jane Birkin — fled to the southwest of France, to play a set at the Festival Papillon in Biarritz. Though the coastal city was once a hot spot for the likes of Chanel (the label still makes a bag named for Biarritz) and Guerlain, its fashion community now competes with a strong population of surfers; throughout the summer, models and surfers arrive at the extremely photogenic beaches in and around Biarritz for business and pleasure. (Most recently, Vincent Cassel’s extremely beautiful model girlfriend stopped in on an assignment.) But it’s not just about catching waves — Karl Lagerfeld still owns a villa there, where he’s been known to hang out on occasion with Hedi Slimane, and Pharrell Williams is also a fan of the sun-dappled shores.

1

Lou Doillon at Bidart Beach. Photo by @loudoillon.

2

Pharrell Williams, in Chanel sunglasses, in Biarritz for Big Festival. Photo by @pharrell.

3

Model, and girlfriend of Vincent Cassel, Tina Kunakey in Biarritz. Photo by @tinakunakey.

4

Lou Doillon at the Grand Plage Biarritz. Photo by @loudoillon.

5

Photographer Sebastian Zanella in Biarritz. Photo by @sebzanella.

6

French actress Alice Isaaz with Cédric Klapische in Saint-Jean-de-Luz for the Festival International du Film. Photo by @aliceisaaz.

7

Model Axle Jozeph in Biarritz. Photo by @axlejozeph.

8

Pharrell Williams in Biarritz. Photo by @purplepr.

9

Model and surfer Sage Erickson in Biarritz. Photo by @sageerickson.

10

Fashion blogger Kristin Sundberg in Biarritz. Photo by @kristinsundberg.

11

Model Nicolas Simoes in Biarritz. Photo by @nicolassimoes.

12

Designer and multimedia artist Joran Briand documents Biarritz. Photo by @studiojoranbriand.